Sunshine Porridge: Mango, Banana & Coconut

I love having oats in the morning so much – sometimes I swear porridge is my favourite food. So when it gets a bit warmer in the summer, I like to find ways to make by porridge get a summery overhaul too. This combination was a particular favourite that I put together recently. 

Also a note on soaking your oats before cooking: I have found that soaking oats, even if only for 30 minutes before cooking, greatly improves the texture of them. Soaking also helps the starches break down, allowing the nutrients to be absorbed more easily by the body.

Ingredients:

Serves 2

  • 100g Oats, I used Quakers. (Soaked for 30 minutes to overnight before cooking) 
  • 200ml Coconut Milk from a Carton (I used Alpro)
  • 1 TBSP Chia Seeds
  • 1 TBSP Honey or Maple Syrup
  • ¼ Mango, chopped into Chunks
  • 1 Banana, sliced 
  • Handful of Chopped Peanuts 
  • 2 TBSP Yoghurt 

Place your oats and chia seeds in a bowl and cover with water until just submerged. Leave to soak for at least 30 minutes, or prepare and leave in the fridge overnight.

Transfer the oat mixture to a pan and add the coconut milk, then place on a low heat, stirring continuously as it cooks for 10 – 15 minutes. Add a little more liquid if you feel it getting too thick. 

While the porridge is cooking, slice the fruit for the toppings. Once the porridge is ready, mix in the honey or maple syrup, scoop into your favourite bowls, arrange the toppings, and serve immediately! 

Leave a comment