Herby Baked Butter Bean Falafel

These hit just the right spot at lunchtime. I have just arrived back from 2 weeks of travelling, eating amazing food – lots of treats and often zero fruit and vegetables the whole day. On my first lunch back I was craving something wholesome and easy, with the limited fresh ingredients. Along came this idea – some falafels using the odd-and-ends of herbs I had in the Fridge and a tin of Butter Beans in the cupboard. I have liked to bake falafels recipes since I find that it gives a great crust without having too add too much oil, and also they don’t fall apart as you try and flip in the frying pan!

Vegan, Gluten Free, Diary Free, Affordable and Nutricious! I hope you enjoy these as much as I did.

Ingredients

•1 x 400g tin butter beans 
•Handful corriander 
•Handful parsley 
•1 tsp cumin
•1 tsp ground coriander 
•1/2 garlic powder 
•1.5 tsp Lemon Juice 
•4 sun-dried tomatoes (and 1 tbsp oil from the jar)
•Pinch of salt and pepper 

Method

Preheat the Oven to 180°C Fan.

Place all the ingredients into a food processor, pulse into smooth (you might need to mix it up a little bit with a spoon as you pulse, or add a little liquid if too thick) 

Take a tablespoon of mix and roll into balls with your hand 

Place on a baking tray and bake for 20 minutes until golden and slightly crispy on the outside!

Leave a comment